2013 Bigas2 Hack Winners (Video: Awarding)


Team/Group Name

App Name

App Description

# of Members


Best research optimization app

Ani Mo


An automated digital phenotyping system using a camera in the screenhouse to monitor plant development for analysis of images that assist in phenotyping and monitoring.


Hagad, Juan Lorenzo

Lai, Francis

Regalado, Ralph Vincent

Samson, Briane Paul

Runner-up for Best research Optimization app



A web-based user interface for the Oryza 2000 software of IRRI. Oryza2000 is a software for modeling potential rice yield and growth.


Belarmino, Esteban

Caballong, Nehemiah

Cayaban, Henry

Best innovation app


Weather On the Go

A Real Time Node.js and MongoDb Web App to notify users of weather forecasts and changes via SMS and a Web App Module.


Luciano, Ericson

Ofilada, Patrick

Santillan, Gian Crescini

Runner-up for Best innovation app



This platform seeks to establish communication and trading between farmers, traders and IRRI.


Escano, Tito Mari Francis

Vergara, Nel

Best farmer app

xTra Rice

Rice Calculator

An online tool that helps farmers with decision making and calculating. The tool contains a variety seed selector and many calculators to determine the profitability, moisture loss, milling quality, etc.


Delos Santos, Alexander

Guillen, Diony

Parmis, Leandro

Best consumer app

LB Pips

Visitors Kiosk

An online tool that visitors can use to access IRRI's Riceworld Museum


Caceres, Paul Elessar

Lagrimas, Raven John

2012 BigAs Hackathon Winners

Young savvy developers took a deep dive into agriculture when they participated in IRRI's BigAs Hackathon in November 2012. Four teams won in the Bigas hackathon event at IRRI co-organized with Smart Communications, Inc. and SMART DevNet.

These were:

  • Team PhilRobotics-A for Environmental Logger System (Envilog), a stand-alone temperature and humidity sensor with real-time GSM-based data sending, offline data collection, and web-based visualization. Franklin Binos II, Richard Myrick Arellaga, Johnaray Dimaunahan, and Wyne Dell Manuel developed Envilog. It won the "Most Innovative App or Special Jury Award". 
  • Araro. Bryan Bibat and Alvin Edward Chan developed Araro. The entry won "Best Game App". 
  • Team Love Team for ISWater that automatically gathers data on soil water level using sensors and notifies farmers or researchers via their mobile phones. Arvin Orubia, Michelle Aldave, Drexie de Leon, and Cherryl Opon created ISWater. It won "Best Research Data Collection App". 
  • Team Libra for a rice variety picker app called Binhi. It was developed by Joan Antonette Bautista, Jason Bourne Escolano Manzala, John Louis Perez, and Raymond Balingit. It bagged "Best Farmer InfoTechnology App".